A Road Less Traveled: Adventure With Green Tortoise (Part II)

Day 3

Having slept in a tent on a hard surface in the cold Wyoming night, I woke up re-energized and eager for new adventures. Today’s destination was a hike to the Inspiration Point above Jenny Lake at Grand Teton National Park.

Majestic Grand Teton mountain range

Majestic Grand Teton mountain range

On the way to our hike, we learned from our French-speaking friends on the bus that Grand Teton, the peak at 3,770 feet (4,197 m) height after which the park was named, means “large breast” in French, a name supposedly coined  by French explorers who first spotted the peak. To learn more about the name controversy go to: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_Teton#Name.

Crossing the Jenny Lake by boat we looked at the tall snowy peaks hovering above the lake. Few drops of rain splashed on our faces, yet nothing could deter our determination to climb up the hills.

The sun peaked through the clouds. The surrounding landscape emanated simultaneously a feeling of coldness and warmth: cold white glaciers touching the endless blue sky, warm green pine trees brushing against the cotton-white clouds.

Squirrel

Squirrel

The Inspiration Point, the end point of our hike, allowed for a panoramic view across the Jenny Lake and the various mountain peaks. Hikers took a chance to rest their legs, enjoy the view, and eat their lunch. We had turkey sandwiches and few mandarins to quench our thirst. Dehydration is the worst enemy of hikers so water bottles and juicy fruits are a must on long trails.

As we were munching on our sandwiches, the smallest squirrel I had ever seen shamelessly approached us. I thought to myself, “What a perfect toy (or prey) for my cats. ” I am always astonished at how different squirrels are by shape, size and color in different locations and altitudes.

The trail was crowded. People of all nationalities and ages were forming a single line and carefully watching their steps on the stony and, at places, treacherous road.

Civilization had encroached on pristine beauty, and I was a part of the problem, eager for personal enrichment. I pondered on the paradox of my, and others, love for untouched-by-human-hand nature and my human desire to be present in it.  How could I enjoy nature without impacting it with my human and flawed behavior?

Jenny Lake and the surrounding mountains

Jenny Lake and the surrounding mountains

On the way back, James and I took the two-mile trail along the lake. It was perhaps my favorite part of the hike. We passed by some astonishing flowers in bright red, yellow, white and blue colors and looked at the crystal clear water of the lake. As we were going downhill, the vegetation around us changed from pine trees to trees with larger-surface leaves.

Camping

Showers are a luxury on campgrounds and we had the privilege to use some for two days at our campsite in Grand Teton National Park.

I had just finished showering, a complex process involving accounting for all the small bits and pieces a human needs to feel comfort- a shampoo, hair conditioner, soap, comb, clean clothes (which can be hard to find after several days of hiking and no access to a laundry machine), water-proof shoes, hair-drier (No! I did not bring one but I rented one at the camp site.) and many others. Carrying all that in a backpack to a shower and back is a part of the camp experience.

I was on my way back to our camp site when, all of sudden, it was pitch dark and there were no people on the road. I turned on my flashlight and looked around. Some signs were pointing to the number of our camp site, but somehow everything looked different. Had that large trailer been over there before?  Soon I realized that I had no idea where I was, so I decided to go back to the starting point and find people to direct me. I was lucky to bump into some people of our group and then James found me in the dark and helped me get back to the camp site.

Nobody had explained to me that there were separate group and individual sites with the same loop and camp site numbers. For veteran campers that might have been a common knowledge, but it was unknown for a city person like me.

Camp Fire

There cannot be camping without a camp fire. Gathered around its smoky flames, holding sticks with marshmallows above the fire, singing camp songs under the leadership of Tess, our second driver, we forgot all our worries, our online personalities, our connection with the civilized world. We were hypnotized and purified  by the power of camp fire. It was the end of a great day.

2 Comments on “A Road Less Traveled: Adventure With Green Tortoise (Part II)”

  1. Chris Tina says:

    Desi, it sounds like the Green Tortoise was the perfect choice 🙂 Great blog and pictures! The title of your blog keeps reminding me of Robert Frost’s poem “The Road Not Taken”:

    “I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.”

    • dpedeva says:

      Chris, thank you for commenting on my blog.

      The reference to Robert Frost’s poem was somewhat intentional although when it popped into my head, I could not quite pin down where it was coming from. Then, James reminded me about the poem. After reading it, I thought that the line reflected well the experience we had.

      Yes, the Green Tortoise adventure was the perfect choice, and I think that you would also love it. It would be great to go on a Green Tortoise trip together in the future.


Leave a Reply

